Book review: Invisible Others by Karina M. Szczurek

  1. “And your work – is it inspired by soul or conscience?”

“Damage.”

A writer from South Africa, Cara meets a Polish historian, Konrad in Paris, both trying to deal with scars of their complex pasts. Cara recovering from an affair with a famous painter, Lucas that ended tragically; Konrad still grieving over the death of the women he loved. There’s also Lucas and his wife Dagmar who have their own ghosts to deal with. All these characters’ journeys are touching and exquisitely written.

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about.”  This book, although fiction, makes you hang on to that saying and you realise again how much truth there is to it.

Thank you to my friend Louis Wiid (Author of Submerged) for suggesting this book. I cannot remember when last I was moved this deeply by a book. The story evokes so many emotions and it is one of those books that will stay with me for a very long time, probably all my life. Usually, once I finished reading a book, I almost immediately start the next but with Invisible Other, I want time to hang on to the characters, linger in their lives and stories…I don’t want to let go, I can’t…not yet. This book is more than a book, it’s a treasure found, one I am sure I will revisit through the years to come.

Dearest Karina, thank you for the hauntingly beautiful journey. 

5 thoughts on “Book review: Invisible Others by Karina M. Szczurek

    1. Hi, I ordered it from Love Books (kate@lovebooks.co.za)
      Please let me know when you have read it and what you thought. It was honestly one the most amazing books I’ve ever read. One of my favourite books I read was “The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera.” Invisible others left me with the same feeling.
      Hope you enjoy it, but I am sure you will.

      Like

Leave a Reply

